To help support our grants we depend on the artist that enter our calls for entries and from the generous support of our readers, sponsors and affiliates.  Your donations make these grants possible.

Rfotofolio Grants

The Rfotofolio Grant is awarded to a fine art photographer who has experienced a hardship or a physical challenge and is working to continue their photographic endeavors.

If you know of a person that you would like to nominate a photographer, please send us examples of their work, and or their website, and a paragraph telling us about them.Send to Rfotofolio Grant in the subject line.

Recipients of the Rfotofolio Grant

2020 Grant recipientRachael Short

2019 Grant recipient Robert Zuckerman 

2018 Grant recipient William Giles.

2017 Grant recipient Denis Roussel.

2016 Rfotofolio Grant was awarded to an anonymous recipient.

2015 Rfotofolio Grant recipient Rachael Short

A Way to Help Grant

The Way to Help Grant was a pop up grant started in the winter of 2016.

2020 we have award one grant to an  anonymous recipient.

2019 we have award three grants one to Rachael Short and two to anonymous recipients.

2018 Four A Way to Help grants have been awarded to photographer Dennis Wickes, Carla Bowman-Smith, Rachael Short and an anonymous recipient.

2017 -2018  A Way to Help grant has been awarded to Patti Levey. 

2016 – 2017 A Way to Help grant was awarded to three individuals Photographer Nathanael Kuenzil  and to two anonymous recipients.


The Denis Roussel Award

2018 marked the introduction of The Denis Roussel Award on Rfotofolio.

We first met Denis in 2013 when he entered our call What is Beauty? He worked on projects where even the compost bin was his muse, showing us that there is beauty everywhere.

If you where lucky enough to have a conversation with Denis, or to be a student of his, you knew how much Denis loved photography.

Denis was a photographer and educator. He loved sharing the beauty of the outdoors with his family and friends, and in his photography he shared that beauty with us. In 2017, Denis lost his battle with cancer. All of us lost the pleasure of seeing new work from this creative and resourceful artist.

We wanted in some small way help continue his legacy, and so the Denis Roussel Award was established. The Denis Roussel Award is open to all photographers whose work is based on the historical/alternative photographic processes, including silver gelatin.

Please visit the Denis Roussel Award for more information.

Echo Lake, Cyanotype © Denis Roussel

Ways You Can Help

When you become a supporter of Rfotofolio you are helping us to support photographers, and to fulfill our mission.
Make a donation via the PayPal donation button.  Paypal donate

Use our Amazon Smile Button. When you pick Rfotofolio as your charity,
Amazon donates a percentage of the sales. It cost you nothing.


Thank you for your support.

Art can make a difference.

32 Year Old Hands © Rachael Short
32 Year Old Hands © Rachael Short


Banner image by © J.Rosenthal