About the Denis Roussel Award

2018 marked the introduction of The Denis Roussel Award on Rfotofolio.

We first met Denis in 2013 when he entered our call What is Beauty? He worked on projects where even the compost bin was his muse, showing us that there is beauty everywhere.

If you where lucky enough to have a conversation with Denis, or to be a student of his, you knew how much Denis loved photography.

Denis was a photographer and educator. He loved sharing the beauty of the outdoors with his family and friends, and in his photography he shared that beauty with us. In 2017, Denis lost his battle with cancer. All of us lost the pleasure of seeing new work from this creative and resourceful artist.

We wanted in some small way help continue his legacy, and so the Denis Roussel Award was established. The Denis Roussel Award is open to all photographers whose work is based on the historical/alternative photographic processes, including silver gelatin.

We accept applications on March 5th.

2019 Denis Roussel Award 

Tina Rowe

Photographers of Merit

Elizabeth EllenWood

Megan Bent

Wojciech Sternak

Recognition of Outstanding Work

Brenton Hamilton

Diana Bloomfield

Julia Martin 

Robert Schaefer

Melissa Wilgis

Gregory Brophy

Thank you  Jesseca Ferguson for being our juror.

The 2018 winner of The Denis Roussel Award is Luther Gerlach.

Photographers of Merit
Curran Broderick
Susan Bryant
Karen Hymer
Diana Bloomfield

Thank you Jill Enfield for being our juror.

Thank you Josephine Sacabo for your support and for funding the first year of the Denis Roussel Award.

Thank you to the following individuals and businesses.
Carol Boss and Hahnemühle paper.
Jill Enfield for agreeing to be juror and donating a copy of  Jill Enfield’s Guide to Photographic Alternative Processes.
Mark Nelson and Precision Digital Negative.
Bostick & Sullivan for a two hundred-dollar gift certificate.
Josephine Sacabo and Luna Press.

To learn more about these photographers please click on their names.

Luther Gerlach
Curran Broderick
Susan Bryant
Karen Hymer
Diana Bloomfield